top of page
My Pick:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

Hair Around Town: America's Beauty Show | CHICAGO, IL

What great inspirations and energy at the America's Beauty Show in Chicago! I always take at least a few tricks and tips when I attend. I know I can go on the internet to see lots of new ideas, but when I'm at the Show, it's up close and personal; I can meet the artist and ask questions. I am a sponge for information so for me it's important to be there.

What I was seeing was lots of very colorful hair -- lots of melting and blended color that ranged from very vivid to soft, blended colors; the new ombré.

As for the cuts, I saw lots of soft layering, shag-like. Lots of undercuts, not just in the back, more on the sides. Trending lengths of hair ranged from long to the shoulder, bobs to pixie cuts. So as I see it, it's more the preference of what you're comfortable with. The difference is that it's just more shattered and more disconnected, but visually subtle, tricking the eye.

What I saw the most was men's grooming. From cuts to beards, there was a strong presence of men's barbering at the show. The cuts were very tapered, classic men's barbering. I took away from it the blending of the hair cut into the beards, along with many inspiring graphics. I love all the tools that were being used for men's cuts to refine them, not just clippers or scissors.

Last but not least, my favorite is the styling and long hair. This is where, in the art of styling, we are embarking on the season of proms, weddings, and special events which are very strongly inspired by the Oscars this year -- I was seeing hair sideswept into a pony on the other side.

Check out my latest video, inspired by America's Beauty Show!

bottom of page